These Are a Few of My Favourite Links – Birth

I’ve blogged a bit about my own experiences, and what led me to make different choices for my second birth. While no two births are the same, and each woman needs to choose a caregiver, birth location, and plan she is most comfortable with (while understanding things may not go as planned), I think it’s important to be aware ahead of time the impact certain choices can have. True choice must be informed choice.

Birth

Epidurals: Risks and Concerns for Mother and Baby

What to Reject When You’re Expecting

Home Births Safer Than Hospital Births for Low Risk Pregnancies

The Most Scientific Birth is Often the Least Technological Birth

The Symptoms of PPD  (if you are a new mom, or know a new mom, a must-read)

Cheating a bit here: I also recommend the documentary The Business of Being Born. While it is an American film, it’s still very informative and interesting for parents-to-be (whether first-timers or not). I don’t recommend the What to Expect books (among other things, one friend of mine refers to it as “that horrible book” that scared her silly about everything she did, and the edition I had included some pretty poor breastfeeding advice). For a Canadian perspective, check out Ann Douglas’ The Mother of All… series instead.

More of my Favourite Links: Homework, Parenting, Sleep, Breastfeeding, Education

5 Comments

Filed under babies, birth, favourites, midwives, parenting

5 responses to “These Are a Few of My Favourite Links – Birth

  1. Pingback: These Are a Few of My Favourite Links – Breastfeeding | mum2beautifulboys

  2. Pingback: These Are a Few of My Favourite Links – Sleep | mum2beautifulboys

  3. Pingback: These Are a Few of My Favourite Links – Education | mum2beautifulboys

  4. Pingback: These Are a Few of My Favourite Links – Parenting | mum2beautifulboys

  5. Pingback: These Are a Few of My Favourite Links – Homework | mum2beautifulboys

Leave a Reply

