That’s My Boy

This weekend, while my husband took BB#2 to a classmate’s birthday party, BB#1 and I decided to take advantage of this mild-for-November weather and head to the park. Many other families had the same idea, so it wasn’t long before BB#1 had found some of his friends to play with. Now that he’s eight, I can give him space at the park—he doesn’t need me to help him climb or moderate taking turns on the equipment, and I can trust him not to run off into traffic. It’s a different world from taking a toddler or preschooler to the park, and I admit I am enjoying it!

So while he played “grounders” with his buddies, I took the opportunity to get a bit of exercise walking laps around the park. As I made one lap, I noticed he was speaking with a boy from his brother’s class, and as I passed by, I overheard him saying “I’ll introduce you to my friends”, which he proceeded to do. Then as I watched from afar, he explained the game to the boy. His friends didn’t actually look too thrilled to have a four-year-old playing with them, but this didn’t deter BB#1. As I continued to circle, I could see he was making an effort to ensure the boy was included and got to take his turn in the game.

I admit, I got teary-eyed. It’s not that I’m surprised by this—I know he’s a sweet, thoughtful kid. And he’s certainly had a lot of practice being an amazing big brother. But not all sweet, thoughtful kids would invite one of their younger brother’s friends to join them in a game in progress, completely unprompted by a grown-up.

If there is one thing I’ve learned from my oldest, it’s that children are born with personality. So I don’t believe my husband and I can take complete credit for how wonderful he is. But, just maybe, we’re doing something right.

2 Comments

Filed under parenting, random, the beautiful boys

2 responses to “That’s My Boy

  1. momof3beautifulgirls

    How sweet it is! It’s so nice you were close enough to witness the “moment”. Sometimes we miss times like that while we are trying to correct kids for something they are doing that we don’t care for.

  2. He is some awesome boy. I think maybe you’re doing a LOT of things right.

Leave a Reply

